The Sri Lankan Team Begins Practice in Preparation For The White-Ball Series Against India



Related Posts
1 of 17

The Sri Lankan Team Begins Practice in Preparation For The White-Ball Series Against India

Sri Lankan cricketers have begun their preparations for the limited-overs series against India. The first ODI between India and Sri Lanka will take place in Colombo on July 18.

The series was originally slated to begin on July 13 but was postponed as a precaution after COVID-19 cases were discovered in the Sri Lankan camp.

The cricketers from the home team have broken their isolation after all of the Sri Lankan players tested negative for COVID-19, according to the latest reports. The official Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) YouTube account shared a video of the players working in the nets ahead of the India series on Wednesday.

As a precaution, some members of the team were seen wearing protective gear throughout the training session. In the nets, Sri Lankan players were spotted honing their batting and bowling talents.

After their batting coach Grant Flower and data analyst G T Niroshan tested positive for COVID-19, the Sri Lankan cricket team was compelled to spend extra days in isolation after returning from England. Sandun Weerakkody, another player, later tested positive for the fatal illness.

Indian cricketers have also been practicing in Sri Lanka, led by Shikhar Dhawan. Fortunately, there have been no cases of COVID-19 in the Indian camp thus yet.

Kumar Dharmasena is One of The Match’s Officials For The India-Sri Lanka Series.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) released the names of the match officials for the white-ball series between India and Sri Lanka on Tuesday.

Ranjan Madugalle, a seasoned match referee, has been named as the match referee for the forthcoming series. Kumar Dharmasena, a member of the ICC Elite Panel, is among the umpires.

The other four umpires for the India-Sri Lanka series are Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Raveendra Wimalasiri, Lyndon Hannibal, and Prageeth Rambukwella. They’re all members of the ICC’s international panel.

The schedules of the India-Sri Lanka series have previously been communicated to SLC. The ODIs will begin at 3:00 p.m. local time, while the T20Is will commence at 8:00 p.m. local time.

The R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo will host all six games of the series.

Following the COVID-19 controversy, SLC, in cooperation with the Board of Control for Cricket in India, rescheduled the India-Sri Lanka series (BCCI).

The three One-Day Internationals will now take place from July 18 to July 23, while the T20Is will take place from July 25 to July 29.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.